National Surfing Circuit Scotia Bank 2020 Achieves Outstanding Debut at Playa Dominical January 27 2020

Photo: Fabian Sanchez/Surfing Nation

This past weekend Playa Dominical was full of Costa Rica's finest surfers, their famiiles, friends and fans. The action was live in front of the well-known restaurant Tortilla Flats. The firing beach break received surfers representing a total of fourteen categories over two days at two podiums. The National Surfing Circuit (Circuito Nacional Scotiabank) is organized and run by the Federation of Surf Costa Rica, which celebrates ifs twentieth anniversary this year. 

Oscar Urbina, winner Open Mens  Photo: Fabian Sanchez 

Important Victory for Caribbean Oscar Urbina 

Oscar Urbina of Puerto Viejo of Limon, won his first Open Men's final yesterday in a stacked heat of National talent. At 18 years of age, the promising junior accomplished a combination of 12.53 in the last heat of the day, surpassing  combined totals of Tomas King, Carlos Munoz and Maikel Torres. All three of the more experienced and seasoned surfers paid respect on the podium to a grateful Urbina. 

For the women, Coral Wiggins of Guanacaste found the right waves to secure the win against fellow finalists, Indianna Ferri, Lisbeth Vindas and Paulina Summers. It was the second career win for Coral in Open Womens and a big one. Wiggins finished seventh overall last year in the same category.  

Pura Vida Board Gear

Women Finalists, winner Coral Wiggins, Indianna Ferri, Lisbeth Vindas and Paulina Summers   Photo: Fabian Sanchez 

Adaptive Surfing Team Shines  

In their first appearance at a National Surfing Circuit event, the members of Costa Rica's Adaptive Surfing Team turned in excellent performances. In conditions of strong currents and head high plus surf, the team members rose to the occasion. Baldir Vallejos won the final after an outstanding 9 point wave scored in his semi-final heat. 

Behind the coaching of Maikel Venegas and with the support of many fans, each competitor showed tenacity and talent, which they will carry to the ISA World Adaptive Surf Championship. Training has been facilitated with the ramp installations in south Jaco and other accomodations. Natalia Vindas, winner of the Bronze Medal at the World Adaptive Surfing Championship in 2017, has been a key player in promoting the new surf inclusive additions. 

The ISA World Games is set to launch this coming March in La Jolla, California from the 11th through the 15th.  You can show your support by making a donation to the Association of Adaptive Surfing. All funds will go toward expenses and can be made at this link on their website,

Baldir Vallejos followed by teammate, Jimena. Both surfers advanced to the final. Photo: Fabian Sanchez

Baldir Vallejos rising to the occasion. Photo: Fabian Sanchez 

Kids And Minigrommets Through Kahunas Represent 

More than 200 competitors represented in the fourteen categories this past weekend. A majority of those surfers were under eight years old. Kids and minigromments of both genders drew a lot of applause for their impressive rides. On the other end of the spectrum, both the Master (over 35) and Kahuna (over 45 years old) categories also had a good showing.

Jose Urena, former President of the Federation of Surf Costa Rica, competed as a Kahuna. On the podium at the Award Ceremony, Urena commended the number of young children competing this year,enforcing the fact that "they are the future of Costa Rica surfing."  Similarly, Open Mens finalist Carlos Munoz encouraged the young surfers to "stay motivated." 

Minigrommets finalists, with emcee Freddy Camacho "The Voice of Costa Rica Surf"  Photo: Fabian Sanchez 

List of Finalists 

Below are the finalists for each category as provided by the Federation of Surf. 

Open Men:

1- Oscar Urbina

2- Tomas King

3- Carlos Muñoz

4- Maykol Torres

Open Women:

1- Coral Wiggins

2- Indiana Ferri

3- Lisbeth Vindas

4- Paulina Summers

Junior Men:

1- Aaron Ramírez

2- Darshan Antequera

3- Sam Reidy

4- Kai Gale

Junior Women

1- Rachel Agüero

2- Paulina Summers

3- Auxiela Ryan

4- Indiana Ferri


1- Axel Castro

2- Tosh Talbot

3- Abraham Hecler

4- Ethan Hollander


1- Indiana Ferri

2- Auxiela Ryan

3- Ericka Berra

4- Rachel Agüero


1- David Monje

2- Ethan Hollander

3- Teo Gale

4- Fabián Rosales

Minigrommets Masculino:

1- Kian Ashara

2- Fabián Rosales

3- Gavin Bren

4- Tomas Casafont

Minigrommets Femenino:

1- Isabela Goodwin

2- Grace Podratz

3- Mikela Castro

4- Summer Hidalgo

5- Kaya Brisa

Sup Surf:

1- Jefferson Tascon

2- José Ruíz

3- Andrés Casafont

4-  David Sánchez


1- Diego Naranjo

2- Tomas Lange

3- Edgar Jimenez


1- Craig Scheiber

2- Jose Ureña

3- Cris Clark

4- Erly Farrier


1-  Baldir Vallejos

2- Mattew Vanderhoogth

3- Daniel Melendez

4- Johnny Villenas


1- Koa Bryant

2- Kian Jiron

3- Jaziel Torres

4- Stokes Lott

A special congrats to Pura Vida Board Gear team riders Aaron Ramirez on his category Junior win and Lisbeth Vindas on her third place finish in the Open Women finals.

Author: Kate Hanley  Follow me on instagram @puravidaboardgear 

The second date of the National Surfing Circuit Scotiabank heads to Puerto Viejo, Limón on February 22 and 23. 

Thank you to the Federation of Surf Costa Rica and the Adaptive Surfing Team Costa Rica for providing information for this article. 

All photos by Fabian Sanchez of Surfing Nation Magazine